Sheriff's Office

Warren County, Virginia

NVDA logo thumbnail ACR App file document

Controlled Burns

Graphic of Wildfire statistics

4 P.M. BURN LAW IN EFFECT
FEBRUARY 15TH UNTIL APRIL 30TH

Virginia's 4:00 p.m. Burning Law goes into effect on February 15. The 4:00 p.m. Burning Law goes into effect each spring and is different from the burning bans, which are invoked only during periods of extreme fire danger. Debris burning continues to be the leading cause of forest fires in Virginia.

Briefly, the 4:00 p.m. Burning Law states: from February 15 through April 30 of each year, no burning before 4:00 p.m. is permitted, if the fire is in, or within 300 feet of, woodland, brushland or fields containing dry grass or other flammable material.

This law applies to campfires, warming fires, brush piles, leaves, household trash, stumps, fields of broomstraw and brush or anything capable of spreading fire.

Since forest fuels cure during the winter months, the danger of fire is higher in early spring than in summer when the forest and grasses are green with new growth. The 4:00 p.m. Burning Law is an effective tool in the prevention of forest fires. Localities may have more restrictive outdoor burning laws.

For more information and complete copies of the law, please check out the Virginia Department of Forestry at www.dof.virginia.gov.

Also read the Outside Burning Regulations.

 


 

Phone icon button - Click to call the WCSO        This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.         Map Icon Button - Click to view map         Facebook Icon Button - Click for the WCSO Facebook page

Home | Civil Process | Courthouse | Corrections |  Employment |  Submit A Tip  |  Press Releases  

Warren County Sheriff's Office © 2016. All Rights Reserved.

 EMERGENCY: DIAL 911


200 Skyline Vista Drive, Front Royal, VA 22630

24 hour Non-Emergency Phone: 540.635.4128